chitika starts here 4
chitika ends here 4

Wednesday, May 1, 2013 

A map showing the location of Australia
To write, edit, start or view other articles on Australia, see the

Announced yesterday in Sydney, the shortlist for Australia‘s most prestigious literary award, the Miles Franklin Literary Award, includes only women for the first time in the award’s history. The award had been criticized in the past for its exclusion of women on the short list, with no women appearing on it in 2009 and 2011.

This year’s authors on the short list include Romy Ash for Floundering, Michelle de Kretser for Questions of Travel, Annah Faulkner for The Beloved, Drusilla Modjeska for The Mountain, and Carrie Tiffany for Mateship with Birds. The winner gets a cash prize of AU$60,000.

Judges said the shortlist selection was based on the quality of the literature, with gender not playing a role in their decision processes. Richard Neville, a librarian at the State Library of New South Wales and judge, is quoted by the Sydney Morning Herald saying, “People will probably think this is a riposte to the Stella Prize, Sources

Source Article from